top of page
Search

SZE's Experiment: Brighten Your Old Clothes


Do you have any clothes that are so unloved that you have neglected them? Are they now sitting, forgotten, at the bottom of your cupboard? Do not worry! Here is an interesting way to swap their awkwardness with great fun and creativity!

 

  1. First, wash your preloved, now abandoned clothes.

  2. Next, simply draw onto them with fabric crayons.

  3. Then, iron your drawing at a low temperature to secure it.

Like real crayons, fabric crayons are soft and controllable, which enables you to apply your desired colour freely (in another words, even if you are a clumsy person, you can experience the joyfulness of decorating and reusing your old clothes!).


There was a pair of jeans which I had been wearing for ages, but I had begun to feel that I had lost my love for them. To save my favourite jeans from living a lonely life in my dark and cold wardrobe (and to wear my jeans for longer) I looked for inspiration on Pinterest, desperate to master myself in the field of graphic design within merely a day!

The improved jeans!

 

I decided to use black and white crayons to create a distinct design, rather than covering my jeans in colours. I also wanted the blueish tone of the jeans to still be seen.


My idea was to use a rhyming pair of words: pain and rain. This made me think of drawing clouds raining on a person, whilst their surroundings become watery.


To see objects creatively I occasionally make myself look at my work from different viewpoints. This is why I made a big hole on each knee to make clouds. Therefore, I reinforced my idea by drawing around the holes and creating droplets coming out from the cloud. To do this, I drew different sized circles under the clouds as droplets of varied sizes. I also added a few eyeballs and flowers laying amongst the droplets. I hoped it may encourage people to notice the relationship between these three elements. The drips are the tears from the eyeballs, and the flower simply means the strength you will obtain after you have been through something tough.


Then, I added a certain number of details, including a symbolic light coming from the back of the person, and stitches reading (in capitals) the word: RAIN. The method of piercing which I discovered, was to insert a needle into jeans and keep moving it up and down. This method resulted in an intriguing rough texture of mixed threads which I used to embellish the droplets.


Please just remember that there is always a way to enhance your neglected clothes. Let us use our imagination to create a positive outcome!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page